About Us


About South West District

The South West District occupies about a third of Singapore’s land mass, spanning 18 divisions in 3 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) and 4 Single Member Constituencies (SMCs), namely Chua Chu Kang GRC, Jurong GRC, West Coast GRC, Bukit Batok SMC, Hong Kah North SMC, Pioneer SMC and Yuhua SMC.


About South West CDC

The Community Development Councils (CDCs) were established under the People’s Association Act in 1997. Subsequently, the South West Community Development Council (CDC) was formed on 24 November 2001 with the mission to Assist the Needy, Bond the People and Connect the Community. 

The CDC brings together government agencies, grassroots organisations (GROs), social service agencies (SSAs) and the private sector to strengthen the social fabric of Singapore. Through our programmes and initiatives, the CDC promotes social cohesion and encourages community ownership among residents, community and corporate partners.  

Ms Low Yen Ling was appointed the Mayor of South West District on 27 May 2014. Ms Low is also the Minister of State, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth (MCCY) & Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) & Adviser to Chua Chu Kang GRC.


South West CDC Organisation Chart


“Owning Your Community" 

The South West District is envisioned to be a place where people care for one another, where the strong looks after the weak and where community ties are warm and resilient.


Our mission is to Assist, Bond and Connect through the following functions:
a) Aggregator of Needs and Resources 
b) Builder of Capability / Capacity in Partners 
c) Connector of Communities 

ABC Mission