



MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SWEARING-IN CEREMONY OF SINGAPORE MAYORS 2017

In conjunction with 20th Anniversary of CDCs

On 24 May 2017, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, presided over the Swearing-in Ceremony of the following five Mayors. The newly appointed Mayors are:

a) Ms Low Yen Ling Chairperson of Mayors'

Committee and Mayor of

South West District

b) Dr Mohamad Maliki Bin Osman Mayor of South East District

c) Dr Teo Ho Pin Mayor of North West District

d) Ms Denise Phua Lay Peng Mayor of Central Singapore

District

e) Mr Desmond Choo Mayor of North East District

- The Mayors are appointed for a three-year term from 27 May 2017 to 26 May 2020. Mr Desmond Choo will take over from Mr Teo Ser Luck as North East Mayor, while the other four Mayors will be re-appointed. Ms Low Yen Ling will be appointed the coordinating Chairperson for the Mayors' Committee, taking over this duty from Mr Teo Ser Luck on 27 May 2017. Longest serving Mayor Dr Teo Ho Pin has been with the North West CDC, since 2001, for the last 16 years.
- The Mayors will lead their respective Community Development Councils (CDCs) in driving local initiatives to serve the needs of their communities. More importantly, they come together to implement common-base flagship programmes across the five districts. Please refer to Annex A of the Fact Sheet attached.
- CDCs work closely with government agencies, grassroots organisations, schools and voluntary welfare organisations amongst others to build and strengthen community bonds. The strength in CDCs lie in their ability to respond quickly to local needs, mobilise and marshall resources in the wider community. Today, the CDC's ABC (Assisting the Needy, Bonding the People and Connecting the Community) mission still remain very relevant as CDCs continue to build social cohesion, community bonding and encourage lifelong learning. They also encourage volunteerism and community ownership for mutual support amongst residents.
- In conjunction with the 20th Anniversary of the CDCs, former Mayors Minister Yaacob Ibrahim, Senior Minister of State Heng Chee How, Minister of State Sam Tan, Mr Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Mr Matthias Yao, Mr Othman Haron Eusofe and Mrs Yu-Foo Yee Shoon also attended the ceremony. About 200 guests comprising CDC Vice-Chairmen, District Councillors, corporate and community

partners came together to attend the ceremony and to celebrate CDCs' 20 years of community development.

6 For media queries, please contact the following media liaisons:

Lim Ting Ji Peggy Lam (Ms) Media Liaison Media Liaison

CDC Planning and Development CDC Planning and Development

HP: 9839 2300 HP: 9749 0013

Email: Lim_Ting_Ji@pa.gov.sg Email: Peggy_Lam@pa.gov.sg

About the CDCs

There are five Community Development Councils (CDCs), namely, Central Singapore, North East, North West, South East and South West CDCs. Mayors of the Districts are Chairman of the respective CDCs. The CDCs' **ABC** mission is to **A**ssist the Needy, **B**ond the People and **C**onnect the Community. The Office of the Mayors are:

a)	Ms Low Yen Ling	Chairperson of Mayors' Committee &
		Mayor of South West District
b)	Dr Mohamad Maliki Bin Osman	Mayor of South East District
c)	Dr Teo Ho Pin	Mayor of North West District
d)	Ms Denise Phua Lay Peng	Mayor of Central Singapore District
e)	Mr Desmond Choo	Mayor of North East District

For more information, please visit www.cdc.org.sg, www.pa.gov.sg and OurCommunity.sg. Please refer to **Annex A** for information of the respective CDCs.

INFORMATION ON THE FIVE DISTRICTS



South West CDC

The JTC Summit 8 Jurong Town Hall Road #26-06 Singapore 609434

The South West district covers:

- Chua Chu Kang GRC comprising of Bukit Gombak, Chua Chu Kang, Keat Hong, Nanyang
- Jurong GRC comprising Jurong Central, Jurong Spring, Taman Jurong, Clementi, Bukit Batok East
- West Coast GRC comprising of Ayer Rajah, Boon Lay, Telok Blangah and West Coast
- SMCs of Bukit Batok, Hong Kah North, Pioneer and Yuhua



South East CDC

10 Eunos Road 8 #12-01 Singapore Post Centre Singapore 408600

The South East district covers:

- East Coast GRC comprising Bedok, Changi-Simei, Siglap, Kampong Chai Chee
- Marine Parade GRC comprising Braddell Heights, Geylang Serai, Kembangan-Chai Chee, Joo Chiat, Marine Parade
- SMCs of Fengshan, Macpherson and Mountbatten



North West CDC

900 South Woodlands Drive #06-01 Woodlands Civic Centre Singapore 730900

The North West district covers:

- Holland-Bukit Timah GRC comprising Bukit Timah, Cashew, Ulu Pandan and Zhenghua
- Sembawang GRC comprising Admiralty, Canberra, Gambas, Sembawang and Woodlands

- Nee Soon GRC comprising Chong Pang, Kebun Baru, Nee Soon Central, Nee Soon East and Nee Soon South
- Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC comprising Limbang, Marsiling, Woodgrove, Yew Tee
- SMC of Bukit Panjang



Central Singapore CDC

HDB Bizthree 490 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh #07-11 Singapore 310490

The Central Singapore district covers:

- Ang Mo Kio Group Representative Constituency (GRC) comprising Ang Mo Kio-Hougang, Cheng San-Seletar, Jalan Kayu, Sengkang South, Teck Ghee and Yio Chu Kang
- Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC comprising Bishan East-Thomson, Bishan North, Toa Payoh West-Balestier, Toa Payoh Central and Toa Payoh East-Novena
- Jalan Besar GRC comprising Kampong Glam, Kolam Ayer, Kreta Ayer-Kim Seng and Whampoa
- Tanjong Pagar GRC comprising Buona Vista, Moulmein-Cairnhill, Queenstown, Henderson-Dawson and Tanjong Pagar-Tiong Bahru
- Single Member Constituency (SMC) of Radin Mas, Sengkang West and Potong Pasir



North East CDC

51 Tampines Ave 4, #04-31 Our Tampines Hub Singapore 529684

The North East district covers:

- Aljunied GRC comprising Bedok Reservoir-Punggol, Eunos, Kaki Bukit, Paya Lebar and Serangoon
- Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC comprising Pasir Ris East, Pasir Ris West, Sengkang Central, Punggol North, Punggol Coast and Punggol West
- Tampines GRC comprising Tampines Central, Tampines Changkat, Tampines East, Tampines North and Tampines West
- SMCs of Hougang and Punggol East